Meet the Distinguished Alumnus Awardees 2020

Prof. Deepak Divan

(Director, Centre for Distributed Energy, Georgia Institute of Technology in Atlanta, GA, USA)
(View Profile)

Prof. Ashok Gadgil

(Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering, University of California, Berkeley, USA)
(View Profile)

Prof. Rupak Majumdar

(Director Max Planck Institute for Software System Germany)
(View Profile)

Prof. Meenakshi Narain

(Professor, Physics, Brown University, USA)
(View Profile)

Prof. C Mauli Agrawal

(Chancellor, University of Missouri, Kansas City, USA)
(View Profile)

Prof. Mukul M Sharma

(Professor, Petroleum and Geosystems Engineering, University of Texas at Austin, USA)
(View Profile)

Air Mshl Raj Karan Singh Shera

(Retired Air Officer Commanding-in-Chief Maintenance Command)
(View Profile)

Mr R. K. Mathur

(Lieutenant Governor of the Union Territory of Ladakh, Raj Niwas, Leh)
(View Profile)

Mr. Neelkanth Mishra

(Managing Director, The India Strategist and Co-Head of Equity Strategy Asia Pacific, for Credit Suisse)
(View Profile)

Mr. Gokul Rajaram

(Product Engineering Lead, Square)
(View Profile)

Prof. Ashish Gupta

(Co-Founder and Managing Director, Helion Advisors)
(View Profile)

Dr. Subrata Mitra

(Partner at Accel)
(View Profile)

Mr. Rajiv Batra

(Co-Founder of Palo Alto Networks)
(View Profile)

Mr. Ranjan Tandon

(Founder of Libra Advisors LLC)
(View Profile)

Dr. Anand Jagannathan

(Founder CEO at Engage, Social Founder, CEO at NewzSocial)
(View Profile)

Dr. Rajeev Gautam

(President and CEO, Performance Materials and Technologies at Honeywell)
(View Profile)

Mr. Ved Arya

(Founder at Srijan, Founder at Buddha Fellowship Program, Founder at SRIJAN Infratech and Development Services)
(View Profile)

Distinguished Alumnus Award


The Distinguished Alumnus Award (DAA), started in 1989, is the highest award given by IIT Kanpur to its alumni in recognition of their outstanding achievements. Every year, the institute works with its alumni to honour individuals who have made a mark in their respective fields of expertise. They are selected for the award based on specific meritorious services on behalf of the quality and advancement of IITK, distinguished accomplishments in business and professional life and/or distinguished human service in community affairs.

Nominations can be made for outstanding achievements in various pursuits under the following categories:

  • Academic Excellence
  • Professional Excellence
  • Entrepreneurship and Management
  • Any other activity pertaining to the service of Humanity at large.

The evaluation committee for the award, as approved by the board of governors of IIT Kanpur, comprises of:

  • Director IITK as Chairman
  • One Past Distinguished Alumnus Awardee (Entrepreneurship Excellence) as Member
  • One Past Distinguished Alumnus Awardee (Management Excellence) as Member
  • One Past Distinguished Alumnus Awardee (Professional Excellence) as Member
  • One Past Distinguished Alumnus Awardee (Academic Excellence) as Member
  • Dean of Students Affairs as Member
  • Dean of Resources and Alumni as Member
  • One (non-alumnus) Faculty Member of the IIT Kanpur
  • Secretary, Alumni Association as Member Secretary


Prof. Shankar Subramaniam

(Chair and Professor of Bioengineering, University of California, San Diego)
(Academic Excellence)
(View Profile)

Prof. Nitash P. Balsara

(Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, The Charles W. Tobias Professor in Electrochemistry, Berkeley College of Chemistry, University of California at Berkeley)
(Academic Excellence)

Prof. Ajeet Rohatgi

(Regents' Professor, School of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Georgia Institute of Technology)
(Academic Excellence)

Prof. Rajesh Gopakumar

(Centre Director, ICTS-TIFR)
(Academic Excellence)

Dr. Krishnamurthy V. Subramanian

(Chief Economic Advisor, Gov. of India)
(Professional Excellence)

Dr. Ajay Kumar

(Defence Secretary, Gov. of India)
(Professional Excellence)

Dr. Arvind Krishna

(Senior Vice President, Cloud and Cognitive Software IBM, New York)
(Professional Excellence)
(View Profile)

Mr. Dinesh Kumar Jain

(Member, Lokpal of India)
(Professional Excellence)

Mr. Ravindra Kumar Dhariwal

(Co-founder and Chairman of Sagacito Technologies)
(Professional Excellence)

Mr. Ajeet Singh

(Co-founder and Executive Chairman Thoughtspot)
(Entrepreneurship Excellence)

Mr. Arun Seth

(Chairman and Co-founder, Global Groupware Solutions, Former Chairman British Telecom and Former Chairman Nasscom Foundation) (Entrepreneurship Excellence)

Mr. Pravin Bhagwat

(Founder and CTO Mojo Networks) (Entrepreneurship Excellence)