About us

Tabs Responsive Shortcode

The Alumni Association was established as early as March 4, 1967, and the credit goes in larger part to the then Deputy Director Dr. M.S. Muthana. For the next 7 – 8 years the Association continued in a somewhat informal manner. In January 1976, the First Convention of the Alumni was held at IIT Kanpur and a formal constitution was adopted along with a duly elected seven-member Executive Committee. Each year since then, we have been holding Alumni Convention once every two years, elections to the executive committee are held. The Association is a registered body with the Registrar of Societies, UP.

Networking: Having a good network is always a boon to a professional and especially if you are an alumnus/alumna of a reputed institute like IIT Kanpur. The institute’s alumni comprise of highly knowledgeable and skilled people and being in touch with each other can be highly rewarding and fun. The institute plans to strengthen this alumni network. The DORA office maintains a large database of the alumni spread across the globe. If you wish to seek help to connect to anyone in particular or a group, mail us at alumni@iitk.ac.in.

Placement and summer internship: If you are working / If you run your own company, then you can be a part of yearly Placement and Summer Internship program run by the institute and provide an opportunity to students to be a part of your work culture.

Teaching and Mentoring: Your knowledge and skills can have a huge impact in building a vibrant and intellectual atmosphere at the institute. You can contribute towards it either by working as an adjunct faculty or giving guest lectures on topics of general interests.

Incubate your Company: The SIDBI Innovation and Incubation Centre (SIIC) at IIT Kanpur has been running since 2003 offering all possible support and world class infrastructure to the startups who plan to incubate with it. The facility is open to all its alumni as well who wish to start a venture.

If you wish to avail any of these facilities, kindly contact us at alumni@iitk.ac.in.

Meets Our Board of Directors

Prof. Abhay Karandikar

Director, IIT Kanpur

Prof. Manindra Agrawal

Dy. Director, IIT Kanpur

Mr. Pradeep Bhargava

CEO, Beyond Blue

Prof. B. V. Phani

Dean of Resources & Alumni, IIT Kanpur

Mr. Sanjay K. Ayyangar

Director, Sasneham foundation

Prof. D. P. Mishra

Professor, IIT Kanpur

Mr. P. C. Rastogi

Director, VirtuBox Infotech Pvt. Ltd

Mr. Bimal Sangari

Product Director, Yahoo Inc.

Mr. S. K. Patjoshi

Jt. Secy., Ministry of Panchayati Raj

Mr. Sanjeev Sinha

President, IJIP Asset Management

Ms. Kritika Bhargava

Business Consultant, ZS Associates

Dr. Ajay K. Shukla

Asst. Professor, IIT Madras

Mr. Vipul Vivek

CEO, xpresso.ai

Prof. Sudhir Misra

Professor, IIT Kanpur

Prof. Ashok K. Gupta

Professor, Ohio University